Hues (5)

Hey there! If you are just joining Kai’s adventure in “Hues,” please go to the List page or click on the title here to read Hues, Hues (2), Hues (3), and Hues (4) before this one so you haven’t missed anything. Thanks for reading!


The white walls of the interrogation room felt just as claustrophobic as my dorm room back then. A smothering sensation covered my throat and chest. Behind James, the young man was staring at me with a smile and a tilt of his head with intrigue. A voice snapped me back to reality, repeatedly calling my name.

“Kai. Hey,” James eyed me cautiously. “Answer the question.”

I furrowed my brow. He asked me a question?

“How. Did. You. Find. Her?” The man across the desk was becoming increasingly irritated. When I didn’t respond, he reached for the file. “Fine. I’ll get it myself and you’ll elaborate from there.”

He read for a moment, “Says here… That you came across her one day at the grocery store in town. You claimed she didn’t have a car, so you offered to drive her home. Is this correct?” My mouth slightly agape, I quietly nodded. Breaths were gradually becoming more rapid as James continued.

“And you drove her into the forest just a few miles behind campus.”

I swallowed hard, “Yes. I did. It was dark that night, and the stars were coming out. I helped her put the groceries in the back of my car before she got in and told me where to drop her off. It was just past campus.”

“But you didn’t take her there.”

I hesitated, staring at the insanity of excitement growing in the disheveled young man’s face in the screen. “Of course not. The relief of finding her, the impending release of finally being able to finish my work, peace of mind-”

James slammed his hands, and the file, down on the desk, rattling out chairs. Laughter and yelling filled the small space; me tipping my head back in roars and James on his feet bellowing something that I couldn’t hear. He caved first, his chest heaving with breaths that of a bull’s while he waited. Eventually, the room was silent once more, save for our labored breathing.

“Alright, Kai,” James frowned at me, “Tell me where you took her that night. Tell me what happened.”

“You already know, don’t you? You’ve got the file,” I sneered.

He gritted his teeth and clenched his fists as he stood there. “Tell me.”

“I finally completed my last piece of art. My big finish.”

One thought on “Hues (5)

Leave a Reply

